The Nice and Accurate Thoughts of Ben Eubank (re: comics)

Hello! This week has some fantastic issues! Let’s dig in!

Journey into Mystery – Poor Kid Loki. The final issue of Kieron Gillen’s run of Journey into Mystery was incredible. Original Loki’s designs on Kid Loki are revealed… and it’s so sad. There are some revelations this issue; one of which (Leah) blew my mind for a good bit. This issue was super awesome and I am sad this story has come to an end. I am so looking forward to seeing Kid Loki in Young Avengers soon! P.S. – Make sure you read the pages after the story too! There’s a note from Tom Hiddleston to Kieron Gillen! 5/5

Adventure Time – This is the first Adventure Time issue I’ve read and I want to smack myself! It is as awesome as the show! I definitely need to get caught up on the previous issues since this issue wrapped up a time-travel robot-battling storyline. This is going onto my subscription list for sure! 4/5

I, Vampire – This month gave us an excellent issue! It began with the focus on Mary, now a human… but don’t think that means she’s weak or defenseless. She is far from being good; but with Andrew’s evil turn, she has fallen into the role of the good guy. I loved seeing an issue from her side… I hope this continues for a bit! 4/5

Justice League Dark – Nick Necro finally comes into open combat against Constantine and the others. It was neat seeing the different battles that Nick orchestrated to distract Constantine from finding the Books of Magic. I absolutely LOVED the art of the Houses flying and fighting. I can’t wait to see what happens next month! 5/5

Red Lanterns – This month’s issue served as a great introduction of the Third Army to the Red Lantern Corps. We see someone on a planet attract the attention of Atrocitus, Bleez, and the others. While some justice is being dispensed, the Third Army appears and things start to go bad for the Red Lanterns. I’m excited to find out where this goes for this book in particular. One thing I didn’t like was that it felt like this issue should have arrived before Green Lanterns: New Guardians. Overall though, it was a good issue. 4/5

Star Trek The Next Generation / Doctor Who: Assimilation – The Enterprise forms an alliance with the Borg in this issue and we find out how and why the Cybermen are taking over the Borg Collective. It’s always amazing how the appearance of a little blue phone box can accelerate and change plans. I thought this issue was decent… it had a lot of information but not a lot of action. Next month should be better… Locutus appears! 3/5

Superman – I’m picking this book up now so I can follow the “H’El on Earth” crossover that’s going on in Superboy and Supergirl. This issue featured Superman getting frustrated with the daily grind at the newspaper. Luckily, he gets to vent while battling a pre-historic Kryptonian dragon before Kara steps in and a new character shows up. The ending has me hooked! 3/5

Leave a Reply

