The Nice and Accurate Thoughts of Ben Eubank (re: comics)

Hello! This past week saw the first several Zero issues from DC as well as some other key issues in some ongoing series. Now that I’m back from Baltimore Comic Con, let’s talk about what I read last week!

The Phantom Stranger – The first and Zero issue of The Phantom Stranger was my favorite issue this week. We are shown the Trinity of Sin again and we see his punishment begin. Along with the Phantom Stranger’s beginning, we also see the Spectre’s beginning. I liked the art and story of this issue and am looking forward to seeing more of the magic in the DC universe. 5/5

Before Watchmen: Silk Spectre – The third issue of this series was pretty awesome. It had incredible art and a fantastic story. The art showing Laurie being drugged was my favorite art of the week for sure. As for the story, it starts to get intense as Laurie’s mother begins to track her down. Sally sends a friend after Laurie who ends up ruining something good that she had. I can’t wait to see the battle that will ensue when Laurie finds out what really happened. 4/5

Earth Two – This was the first Zero issue I read this week and honestly, I was more confused than anything. We were introduced to Terry Sloan of Earth-2 as he narrates the story. Basically, while looking for a way to win the war, he discovers alternate universes and futures. He sees what’s in store for the planet and decides to take extreme measures to prevent something from happening. We don’t know what it is but it’s coming. The story by itself was good but I’m looking forward to finding out exactly how it all ties together. It was certainly not a bad issue… it just felt very disconnected from the rest of the series to me. 3/5

Fairest – Oh Fairest, what have you done?? I am still figuring it all out but I love it! The seventh issue of this series is a flashback to Los Angeles in the 1940s where Beast is tracking down a dangerous creature from one of the fable worlds. This creature, the Lamia, is able to take on other forms and the one it has taken for so long is shocking. This was an amazing story. When I read Fables from now on, I’ll be looking for any clues that I could have missed… although I’m sure I won’t find any. I definitely recommend you pick this up immediately no matter where you are in Fables5/5

Green Lantern – We finally meet the new Green Lantern, Simon Baz! This Zero issue picks up right where the Annual left off with Sinestro and Hal Jordan’s ring going off to find a new Lantern. When we meet Simon, he’s in a lot of trouble with the US government. He stole a van with a bomb in it and crashed into the building where he used to work. Just as things really start to get intense, the ring breaks him out of jail and thrusts him onto the world’s radar. I can’t wait to see what’s in store for everyone next as the “Rise of the Third Army” story really begins! 4/5

Hell Yeah – This month’s issue answered very little but it did really move the story along. Ben’s mother takes him to a place that is apparently where they come from. A world seemingly devoid of life and in ruins. She begins to tell him some things about the multiverse and that he’s wanted somewhere but she doesn’t get to the why of things. Ben ends up being taken by people working for the old man we keep seeing ruthlessly killing the other Ben’s that keep jumping into the universe he has always lived in. Even though I didn’t get the answers I wanted, I still love this story and can’t wait for next month! 5/5

Mind the Gap – This month’s issue of Mind the Gap showed Ellis taking more control of her new environment. She decides that it’s time to stop playing it safe and try to figure out what happened and remember her life. In the outside world, an arrest is made and the mystery continues to deepen. 3/5

Leave a Reply

