The Nice and Accurate Thoughts of Ben Eubank (re: comics)

Hello! This was a good week of comics… so sorry this is late!

I, Vampire – I love pretty much everything about this book. The story is paced well and sucks you in. This issue sees Andrew meeting Batman in Gotham. I don’t know what it is about this issue but this is the first time I’ve really actually liked Batman in anything. The issue leaves off at an awesome point and I want the next issue NOW. Go get this issue if you haven’t already… it’s something you should definitely be reading every month! 5/5

Aquaman – Hey, did you hear that Aquaman got lost in the desert? Ha! Issue five was awesome. From the opening panels to the Atlantean message, it was action-packed and is opening up a lot of stories to come. I really like this book and can’t wait for next month. 5/5

Elephantmen – Issue 37 starts and just keeps running. Elephantmen are being murdered by someone called Razor; Sahara makes a deal with Panya; and Miki is kicked out by her mother. The art is gritty and awesome like usual. 3/5

Fantastic Four – The battle above Earth continues in issue 602. The Richards call Galactus in and he starts to handle the Kree… but then, the Mad Celestials arrive! It’s kind of pretty exciting and I hope that next issue doesn’t disappoint. 4/5

FF – I have a hard time liking this art… it was way better back before issue ten or so. The story keeps going and I really like it. This issue apparently shows the demise of Doom (but I think he’ll be back), and it shows the Mad Celestials finally breaking through into this universe. I’m hoping that next month brings Fantastic Four and FF back into sync. 4/5

Flash – Mob Rule is crazy… and who is this Captain Cold person? The art in this issue was pretty good and I am looking forward to seeing how some of the new storyline ideas grow. 3/5

Green Lantern: New Guardians – Issue five shows the new “team” entering the Orrery that came out of the white hole. We discover that these worlds are somehow clones or something of other, existing worlds like Tamaran and Okaara. Some revelations are made about Larfleeze and this new enemy. I like where this seems to be going. 4/5

Green Wake – I’m not going to lie… this issue confused me a little. There didn’t seem to be much advancing the storyline or the background story. The art was awesome as usual and I am definitely still interested in finding out the truth of Green Wake. 3/5

Justice League – This was a very good issue. The battle is not going well against Darkseid and some of the team are taken through the doorways to somewhere. Probably the best part of this was the interaction between Green Lantern and Batman. I can’t wait to see what happens next month! 5/5

Justice League Dark – This was definitely one of my favorites from this week. I loved seeing what other heroes are dealing with while Enchantress’ magic is going haywire. The art during this issue is absolutely incredible. I like how the problem with Enchantress and June Moon was resolved but it makes me ask why Xanadu did what she did… if she did it just to build a team and avert some bad future, or if she focused on Enchantress for another reason? I honestly love this and can’t wait to see where it’s going. 5/5

Legion: Secret Origin – Issue four continues to show the Legion being assembled. We see some frustration coming from the military about how the Legion is doing things. I love how the story is going and really like how the issue ends with Phantom Girl saying they should time travel and get Superman. 4/5

Teen Titans – Issue five shows the battle between Superboy and the Teen Titans. The art was pretty good and the fight scenes were pretty cool. I want to see what happens with Superboy and N.O.W.H.E.R.E. in the coming issues. 4/5

Leave a Reply

