The Nice and Accurate Thoughts of Ben Eubank (re: comics)

Hello and welcome to a new week! Sorry this is a bit late… it’s been busy reading everything I am right now! Anyway, here are my thoughts on this week’s comics!

Journey into Mystery – This is my pick for the week for sure. Issue 633 is the first part of “The Terrorism Myth” which I think will be really good. The issue begins with a meeting of the Fear Lords in a sub-basement of the Infinite Embassy. The more I see things like this, the more I love this comic and want to dig into back issues to find out more. From the Infinite Embassy, we switch to a diner on Earth where Loki and Leah are drinking a milkshake. This is a hilarious scene and just proves even more why Journey into Mystery is awesome. Next, we’re introduced to an exorcist named Daimon Hellstrom. Apparently something is taking over people in their dreams and Daimon intends to find out what it is. Predictably, his search leads to Loki and the wreckage of Dark Asgard. I’m really excited for this arc. 5/5

Batgirl – I have to say that I am sooo glad this issue didn’t deal too much with Barbara’s mother. Instead, we’re treated to crazy fighting and mind-control of some sort. We meet a woman named Gretel who appears to be controlling people and possibly being controlled herself. I’m excited for the next issue for sure. 4/5

Batwoman – Kate Kane deals with Maria in this issue some more and finally defeats her. And this happens in glorious artwork that is just amazing. Later, Batwoman makes a deal with the D.E.O. to help get rid of a group called Medusa. I’m interested to see where this is going and I’m wondering how long it will take before Batman and Batwoman meet again on opposite sides. 4/5

Dark Matter – This is issue one of four written by Joseph Mallozzi and Paul mullie, who you may recognize from the show Stargate. The first issue gets us quickly on track by waking several people on a spaceship from cryogenic sleep. No one knows who they are but they right away fall into what they’re apparently good at… science, medical, security, and command. There’s a robot trying to kill them and another ship firing missiles at them. This book looks like a winner! 5/5

Doctor Who – This is the first issue of the “As Time Goes By” arc. The Doctor, Amy, and Rory travel to Casablanca in 1941 and discover Nazis and Silurians. I honestly don’t care for the art in this issue that much but I think the story may make up for that. 3/5

Frankenstein: Agent of S.H.A.D.E. – It’s Frankenstein versus OMAC in this week’s issue… and it was awesome! The artwork is great as usual and the story had a lot of fun things I’d like to see come up again later. I haven’t read OMAC yet but this issue really showed me that I should… too bad it’s been cancelled by DC. 4/5

Green Lantern – This issue wraps up the problem with the Yellow Lanterns on Korugar nicely and in a way I wasn’t expecting. Sinestro leaves the planet and sends Hal home… there’s not much of a setup for the next arc at all. 3/5

Legion: Lost – In issue five, the hypertaxis virus continues to spread on Earth. Alastor and the Legionnaires battle with Tellus and Dawnstar leading the charge. There is also some more insight to Alastor’s thinking about why he released the virus on Earth. At the end, there’s a surprise visit from the Martian Manhunter! 4/5

Resurrection Man – I won’t lie… I was kind of confused for the majority of this issue. We were shown some flashbacks that apparently Mitch was involved in some less than ethical medical tryouts in the Middle East. And it looks like this time, he resurrected into the care of some people who don’t look like they’re going to be nice. Issue five was good and I’m looking forward to finding out more of his backstory. 3/5

Superboy – Issue five continues Superboy’s rebellious streak. We hear about The Colony and a Culling and the Ravagers… I’m really excited to find out more of what’s going on. For some reason, I’m getting a Morning Glories vibe from this issue and I love it! 4/5

Whispers – This is the first issue of the new series by Joshua Luna. It looked like an interesting story when I came across it in Previews a while ago but unfortunately it didn’t quite live up to my expectations. It feels to me like it’s just going to be teenage drama with a splash of supernatural. Basically, the main character can project himself to other places when he sleeps and influence people. It sounds good but I just couldn’t get into it. The artwork was not my favorite either. 1/5

Leave a Reply

