The Nice and Accurate Thought of Ben Eubank (re: comics)

This week was a small issue reading week… I was heavily engrossed in Neil Gaiman’s The Sandman for the majority of the week, which I intend to write a review about shortly. Anyway, I’ve got quite a few back issues ordered that have begun to come in so I’ll be reviewing each series together. Next week will see me catching up with a bunch of series I started to late. Here’s what I read this week!

Legion of Super-Heroes – issues 1, 2, 3 – The issues I was missing finally have arrived! I foolishly neglected to subscribe to Legion right away… and I know what a big mistake that was! I’m intrigued by the whole Legion universe… I’m brand new to it. The reboot of Legion seems to be picking up after previous story lines that went on for quite a while but I don’t feel that I’m missing super important things. I feel like the story is explaining what needs to be explained and will continue to do so. There seems like there is a lot of treachery afoot. Starting with the obvious problem with Panoptes; something doesn’t seem right on Daxam; and I feel like Glorith may be hiding something or is not being completely truthful about some things. But, her magic being part of things factors into my thinking there’s more there hidden that may cause issues in the future. Since I essentially just started reading comics, I keep coming across references to Darkseid, who I assume is a big bad of DC. I’m intrigued and want to know who or what it is. I’m really excited by Legion of Super-Heroes and how this, Legion: Lost and Legion: Secret Origins tie together. I can’t wait for next issue! 5/5

Nightwing – issue 3 – I really liked the art in this issue… especially the battle with Feedback. Mr. Haly’s funeral was in this issue and led nicely into Nightwing’s trip to Chicago. Saiko shows up at the end alongside someone else I was not expecting. I really want to know why Dick Grayson is named “The Fiercest Killer in all of Gotham.” Next issue brings in Batgirl! 4/5

Fear Itself: The Fearless – issue 3 – I am enjoying the art and story of this series so far. The time jumps are good but always leave me wanting more of an explanation. This issue begins with the golden apples of Idunn. Hopefully there’s more to this in later issues other than what happened with them at the end of issue three. There was a lot of vampire fighting in this issue… along with two new things. First, the D.O.A. (whoever they are) planted something to track the hammers that Val has. I don’t know who the D.O.A. is but I like that they’re quietly working in the background on something. Second, Sin is building something. Obviously something bad and I’m interested to see how this plays out. Overall, I liked this issue a lot. It feels like there is a lot going on that will take time to bring into view. 4/5

Leave a Reply

